Saturday, June 17, 2017

EvolutionWiki is dead, long live RationalWiki

EvolutionWiki was a wiki to collect skeptical information to fight creationism. When it shut down, RationalWiki took it on to port the useful stuff over. Tim Starling noted it was an ancient unmaintained security hazard, and we'd ported most of it to the main RationalWiki anyway, so David just killed it - it now redirects to the corresponding page name on RationalWiki. See discussion.

Server shuffling and upgrades

With the kind volunteer assistance of Tim Starling (from Wikimedia), we're working on shuffling the RationalWiki servers around and upgrading at last.

First thing in the programme: around 1400 UTC today (3pm BST, 10am EDT, 7am PDT), David is about to repoint DNS at apache1, and switch off and delete the Squids and the load balancer. Users should notice no effect, but we'll be keeping watch.

Next up: set up new servers with up-to-date software, SSL termination at last ...

Update: All done. You should have seen no effect whatsoever. More to come!